The Díaz Trio

Live at Carnegie Music Hall, Monday, February 5, 2018 - 7:30pm

Andrés Cárdenes violin; Roberto Díaz, viola; Andrés Díaz, cello

Franz Schubert  - String Trio (fragment) D. 471
Krzysztof Penderecki  - String Trio
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart  - Divertimento in E flat major, K. 563

"...violist Roberto Díaz and cellist Andrés Díaz dispatched the intricate figuration deftly, their interplay with [Andrés] Cárdenes seamless ... the final two movements were played with robust energy, the blend of instrumental timbres always richly luminous and beautiful."
South Florida Classical Review

About The Artist: 

One of the few professional string trios in existence, the Díaz Trio is internationally revered as one of finest chamber ensembles performing today, garnering magnificent praise from critics and audiences alike. Composed of three dynamic artists, violinist Andrés Cárdenes, violist Roberto Díaz, and cellist Andrés Díaz, the trio performs regularly in recital and at festivals around the world. In 1993, at the invitation of Isaac Stern, the trio performed at Carnegie’s Weill Recital Hall to celebrate the next one hundred years of music making at Carnegie Hall. Other highlights include performances in Los Angeles, Seattle, Pittsburgh, Boston, Austin, and Lincoln Center in New York, as well as the Mostly Mozart Festival at the Kennedy Center, the Newport Festival, Cape and Islands Chamber Music Festival, Festival de San Miguel de Allende in Mexico, St. Cyprien International Festival of the Arts on France, the Kuhmo Festival in Finland and an extensive tour of Chile. Recent debut tours of Canada, in collaboration with Canadian pianist Angela Cheng and guitarist Norbert Kraft, were a resounding success. The Díaz Trio also performs regularly at both the Corcoran Gallery and Phillips Collection in Washington, DC. The Díaz Trio serves as Trio in Residence at the Brevard Music Center in North Carolina.